The DAAPcares 2024 Application is now Open.  Deadline to apply is Sunday, March 24th.  All DAAP students, faculty, staff, and alumni are eligible to submit projects (completed or in progress) from Spring 2023, Summer 2023, Fall 2023, and Spring 2024.  Contact Rachel Carr with any questions.

The showcase event will be held on Thursday, April 11 in the DAAP cafe at 5:30 PM.

DAAPcares honors and supports the work of DAAP students, faculty, staff, and alumni to improve the quality of life around the world. From local to global, individual to multidisciplinary, and academic to professional - we connect scholarship to solutions. These accomplishments are celebrated annually in a showcase of innovative projects and research that represent our mission to achieve sustainable outcomes with environmental, economic, and cultural equity.

Student Organization Meetings for 2023-24:  Wednesdays at 5:30 pm in DAAP 5407  Register on GetInvolvedUC

2023 Award Winners

DAAPcares was held on Thursday, April 6, 2023 and displayed more than 25 projects from students, faculty, staff, and alumni. 

School of Design

Best in School – Caroline Bussick and Iset Celik – Senior Capstone – "The Remake Project"

Best in Interdisciplinary – D.J. Trischler and Anca Matyiku – Community Engagement Project – "NODES St. Lawrence Square"

Sustainability – Libby Kohls & Kaleb Telepak – Product Design Studio 1/INDL 3042/John Dixon/Year 3 Spring – "CLT Reuse Furniture System"

Compassion – Maureen France –  "McMicken Community Garden" 

Innovation – Cristelle Mathews, Dr. Claudia B. Rebola, Dr. Daniel Arendt – "NarConnect: Human-Centered Interface and System Design for Saving Lives"

School of Architecture & Interior Design

Best in School – Mea McCormack, Ashley Miller and Lauren Weiss – Architecture Studio 4 / ARCH4001 / Udo Greinacher / Fall 2022 – "Hot.Hot.Hot."

Best in Interdisciplinary – Anca Matyiku and D.J. Trischler – Community Engagement Project – "NODES St. Lawrence Square"

Scholarship Award – Dima Almeniawi – Thesis – "From Temporary to Permanent A Case Study of Refugee Resettlement in Northern Syria"

School of Art

Best in school – Lilly Hinckley, Isadis Alcantara and Azalia Ali – Curating Contemporary Art / ARTH 5015/6015 / Kate Bonansinga / Spring 2023 – "Cincinnati Bombshells: Knitting Community Together"

School of Planning

Best in school and Diversity, Equity & Inclusion – Xavier Yozwiak and Max Linder, Xinhao Wang & Dr. Christopher Auffrey – "The Remake Project"

Connect with DAAPcares:

Email: Rachel Carr, Graduate Student Advisor and  Margaret Dull, President
Instagram: @daap_cares
GetInvolvedUC: DAAPcares

Support from:

DAAP Tribunal

DAAP Tribunal logo

Email: ucdaaptribunal@gmail.com
Facebook: @DAAPtribunal
Instagram: @ucdaaptribunal
GetInvolvedUC: DAAP Tribunal