Advising

Helping achieve educational and personal goals together.

News

What is Advising?

Academic advising is a process in which students and academic advisors work together to achieve the student’s educational and personal goals. Typically the student and the advisor collaborate to create a broad understanding of program/major requirements and university and DAAP policies and procedures, as well as to develop course schedules in order to fulfill degree requirements and student interests. Academic advisors can also identify additional campus and community resources as needed to enhance the student’s tenure, both personally and academically, at UC.
 

How to Schedule an Appointment

  • Use the Starfish scheduling tool which is integrated into Blackboard (Starfish How-To Guide)
  • Call 513-556-1376 during normal business hours
  • Stop into our office (Aronoff 5470) during normal business hours
    *Advising appointments are not scheduled through email.

 Appointment Tips

  • Appointments must be scheduled at least one day in advance.
  • During registration periods, it is recommended that students plan ahead to schedule advising appointments.
  • Using the Starfish scheduling tool, you have access to your schedule in real time, should you need to make any adjustments to it.
  • Appointments are scheduled for 30 minutes.
  • Students who do not arrive on time for an appointment may be asked to reschedule so as not to disrupt other student appointments. If you cannot make your scheduled appointment, please enter this on the Starfish scheduling tool or notify the office by calling (513) 556-1376.
  • If you have questions specifically about co-op, please contact the Division of Experience-Based Learning and Career Education (513-556-2667).


Meet the Team

Amberly Maryo

Senior Assistant Dean
Student Affairs
Amberly.Maryo@uc.edu

Gavin Bonar

Admissions Counselor
Gavin.Bonar@uc.edu

Shaylen Oswald

Executive Staff Assistant
Shaylen.Oswald@uc.edu


Academic Advisors

Myron E. Ullman Jr. School of Design
and School of Art

Majors: Communication Design, Fashion Design, Industrial Design,
Art History, Fine Arts, and Pre-Fine Arts

Ellie Graham

Academic Advisor
Last Names A-G
Ellie.Graham@uc.edu

Jaime Edwards 

Senior Academic Advisor
Last Names H-O
Jaime.Edwards@uc.edu

Jessica Nethers

Senior Academic Advisor
Last Names P-Z
Jessica.Nethers@uc.edu


Academic Advisors

School of Architecture and Interior Design
and School of Planning
Majors: Architecture, Interior Design, Horticulture, Urban Planning, and Urban Studies

Samantha Dutle

Senior Academic Advisor
Last Names A-M
Samantha.Dutle@uc.edu

Tiffany Leazer

Associate Director, Student Affairs
Senior Academic Advisor
Last Names N-Z
Tiffany.Leazer@uc.edu